Woolly Dionysos

My two patron deities are Hekate and Dionysos. I work with others, but those are the most important to me. I keep altars to each of them in my ritual room, which see regular use. My Hekate altar is small and simple and fairly plain, but has multiple images of the goddess on it. My Dionysos altar is large and complex and has lots of stuff, but no image of the god. (I had one. I took it elsewhere for a ritual, and it broke.) The Zati book had instructions for a doll, so I thought I’d give it a shot. At first he was too Jesusy:

Jesus does not belong on my Dionysos altar. Nope. So I added leaf and grape cluster beads to his fillet, and when that wasn’t quite enough either, I borrowed some Green Man iconography, and gave him a green cloak trimmed with leaves. (Trying to make a felt leopard skin sounded like faaaaar too much work.)

I am reasonably pleased. I want to make him a thyrsos, whenever I find my tiny pinecones. The vertical stripes are meant to represent the pleats in a bassara, the long version of the chiton, which Dionysos wore. (It was usually a woman’s garment, so D was considered to be somewhat . . . gender transgressive, shall we say?)

I’m working on a second doll, this one a Valkyrie, for the Ravelry Folklore and Fairy Tales group’s read-along/knit-along/weave-along of the Volsung Saga. I did go and reread the story, if not the longer translation, and I’d forgotten most of that, but I was surprised to see how much of the rest of the mythology I remembered in the discussion. I ended up explaining the context of the mistletoe dart, and then giving some of the reasons the Aesir lose at Ragnarok, and was able to reel off a lot of it off the top of my head.

I may, if this one comes out well, try doing a Hecateon somehow, the three-form Hecate pillar.

In other news, I treated myself to some fancy wool batts, and am having fun spinning those. I want to chain ply the yarn and send it to my Mom, who crochets, but she doesn’t do tiny fine stuff, so it’s not like I can send her my usual cobweb yarns. So I’m spinning fingering weights, and it’s more fun than I remember. And it goes so much faster! I’d forgotten how fast spinning can go! Whee!

The wool is not as soft as I had expected, which is probably the Coopworth/Romney, but it’s pretty colors. And it’s fun to spin, and I’ll get to practice my chain plying.

4 thoughts on “Woolly Dionysos

    • Thanks!

      I just work from the book, and honestly not in order or any organized fashion. I love some of the keyforms and techniques, and the loom itself is great, but the journey as a whole, the way she lays it out, is not useful to me.

      • Not doing them in any kind of order just sounds like my kind of thing ;). I came to the realisation lately (whilst picking up feathers in the woods for a weaving) that my weaving could be very much a spiritual expression. I’m drawn to the idea that everything in life is interwoven.. that the smallest length of weft contributes to make the beautiful bigger picture… The techniques and key forms are actually what I’m most interested in… the journey I know I’ll need to make my own.

      • I say do it! The Zati forms are really cool, especially the bowl, the mask, and the doll. You can weave the shapes on any loom, but the directions are weird and specific and kind of finicky, so I recommend trying them on the journey loom first, so you can see how they work, and then looking at how to transfer them.

        And Oh! I want a garden loom and a story loom!

Leave a Reply

